Dead Butterflies

Decade and a half ago
When in my door you walked
If you’d asked me then
To consider when
Oh, how I would have balked

If you would have suggested then
That all those butterflies would be dead
I would have argued just as fierce
I would have lost that fight

The only difference for me now
Is a pile of brittle wings aground
Reminding me how once they fluttered
Forgetting nothing’s never uttered
Goodnight, good night
I know I’ll miss you so

If you would have suggested then
That all those butterflies would be dead
I would have doubted every word you said
I would have lost that fight

That only difference, all those dead
Pave the lonely road I tread
Rumbling thunder through my ache
Denying nothing stays the same
Goodnight, lost love
Know I will miss you so

Leave a Reply

