No Competition

I listen to their chatter
All day while I labor
Wishing I could join
In their loving of each other

I see the way they smile
And curl up close in touch
Wishing one or both
Yearned for me that much

I try to tell myself
Envy is not healthy
and though it’s not as much
They really do love me

I must accept that I am loved
Just as much as I am
Never whether more or less
Than the other man

It behooves me to remember
This love I receive is no perdition
And for the love he gets
There is no competition

Leave a Reply

