Son Of God

My best friend
until he mucked up
and I tossed him out.
We went our separate ways.

He’s homeless now
living in his car
surviving on handouts.
We’ve gone very different ways.

He still believes
and goes to church
praying to his God.
Obviously mysterious in His ways.

His girl left him
for a school overseas
finding a better man.
She’d grown tired of his lazy ways.

I honestly don’t miss him.
Still glad I ditched him.
He’d have dragged me down.
But I still hope somewhere up ahead

he finds better days.

Leave a Reply

