Aren’t These My Real Friends?

As long as I stay engaged
in the meetings we both attend,
these people will continue talking
interested to me.

But God forbid
I fall behind
or I can’t make
a meeting or nine.

I’ll sit alone
in the silence
all Sunday afternoon
pretending I’m not lonely.

I try to tell myself I’m loved
–that these are my real friends–
but the silent phone
and the empty inbox
let me know
these so-called friends of mine
may be nothing
but acquaintances.

*In response to The PassionThroughPoetry’s poem: “Wasting Time.”

2 thoughts on “Aren’t These My Real Friends?

Leave a Reply

