Farewell, My Voice

Everything I have to say
Involves causing you pain
So I’ve got no words today
Only silence to sustain

I’m not the mime with the rope
Pulling you close for a kiss
I’m the cliche trapped in trope
Not anything. I’m just this

At least homeless street performers…
No good argument can start with that
I’m guilty of trying to cut corners
Reducing my life to a single vignette

The blades of grass
They’ve slit my wrist
This too shall pass
I’ve tried. I’ve missed

I’ll trim the lawn
I’ll try again

Everything I have to say
Involves causing you pain
So I’ve got no words today
Only silence to sustain

Leave a Reply

