Eidolon

The party ended
And the last friend waved goodbye

You linger here
And I linger with you

Hands in my pockets
Not sure if anything’s okay to say

The first drops fall through you
And soon we’re standing in the rain

Soaked, I shuffle my feet
Not saying a thing

I know it’s late
I don’t want you to leave

I can’t ask you to stay

As you evanesce
I wipe from my face

Tears disguised as rain

—–

*In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Happy Happy Joy Joy.”
Note: The tears shed in this poem aren’t happy, I know. I personally don’t shed happy tears, so the prompt did not quite fit my experience, but it still led me to write this, so credit is given. The prompt prompted, even if it wasn’t what it was meant to prompt.

Leave a Reply

