A Thoughtful Gift

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Mystery Box.”

Peeling off the Christmas wrapping
My fingers grace the wood
Tracing the grain
Petting the finish
Of the box you’ve gifted.

I am Pandora
Eager to open it
To unleash its contents
To sate my curiosity

As I lift its lid
You tap a text into your phone
And chat with someone

Indifferent to my excitement
Disinterested in me altogether

The box is as empty as your heart

There’s nothing in there
But a scrap of paper
With a hastily scribbled message:

“I don’t love you.”

Leave a Reply

