Resolution Shifts

Resolutions as a consequence of important days turns those days into altars we can revisit to measure the progress of the changes we successfully make in our lives. This is articulated very well in this poem!

The Birds and the Fleas

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “To Be Resolved.”

With resolution,
I began making goals on the altar of my birth,
each year soaring higher with expectation than the last.

I claimed to cease with foolishness
to reign in my emotions, my angry monster
to work with those that care,

team-building exercises with my soul.

I personalized the perennial promise
to twist my being into something better
and creep toward the future
and escape the black hole of the past.

I have learned, with each added hair that grays
with each sign of wrinkle to come
with each new pair of eyes I meet

I am.

I have perception on my side, each window of someone
showing me their slight reflection
and making plans with me to bridge between

each altar.

With resolution,
I know I am moving forward
because I choose to move.

View original post

Leave a Reply

