Scraps of Foil

Foil tears when peeled away
So there are still bits of it
stuck here and there.

I just found this piece under my collar.

I was going to throw it out
but when I pinched it between fingers
the dent I created stopped me.

You had once called this my armor,
Initially thinking is was my loyalty
and later calling it my self-control.

Whatever it was, it was weak.
Dented by mere touch.
Broken with ease.

I wish you had been wrong
on both accounts,
but my loyalty was a facade
and my self-control was frail.

I now understand why you forgave me.
I’m holding the reason between my fingers.
This foil armor has been torn away.

Only these little scraps remain.

Leave a Reply

