Domestic Dejection

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Getting Seasonal

Preface: We cannot and should not force happiness. If painful conflict or entrenched resentment fills your home, this season may not be joyous. This song is for us.

Maybe I have a selective memory
I can’t recall hurting you
Not like you say I did
But I know myself
I know I’m capable
So I am certainly culpable
And beg for your forgiveness

Knowing some wounds won’t heal
Starting as accidents
Offenses born of ignorance
Evidence of our naiveté
Lingering to this day

From out of the blue
I once again disappoint you
The conversation goes south
Curses pour from your mouth
A cauterizing blade twists inside
And my heart runs away to hide

Because some wounds don’t heal
Those results of accidents
Offenses born of ignorance
Evidence of my naiveté
Lingering to this day

I rub the back of my hand
Where the cat scratched me
All those years ago
My fingers come away red
My flesh is torn open again

These wounds can’t heal
No longer results of accidents
Offenses defying ignorance
Proof you aren’t naive
Lingering…

Why won’t you leave?

One thought on “Domestic Dejection

Leave a Reply

